All work and no play…

Life with Mom

—-This is a story of a life shared with Mom after her diagnosis of Alzheimer’s Disease.—

 …makes Diane a dull girl.

Somewhere along the way, I made a commitment to weave in a little more enjoyment into life.  For years, I worked 6 days a week.  It was my choice.  I had a job that I felt required that.  My boss didn’t expect it or even suggest it.  I just knew what I had to do, and I did it.  And, I enjoyed it…so no complaints.

But, there came a time when I noticed the years piling on and values shifting, and decided to work less and recreate more.

The terms “work” and “recreatation” mean different things to people.  But the guiding force for me is the word “recreation”.

Diane’s definition of Recreation:  Anything that isn’t work, that was chosen to do for fun.

So, I began writing, drawing, going to the YMCA, picking blueberries, playing golf, going to dinner with friends, cooking more, and not putting off spending time with friends and family.

I have plans for even more recreation by volunteering with the Community Supported Agriculture (CSA) farm group I belong to, gardening, and maybe begin working on some crafty things with my mother and sister.

But for today, I decided to set some time aside to practice with watercolors.  I’m taking a watercolor art class and have learned some basics.

CCF03152013_00000

My goals are to have fun, be creative, and explore the many things that we, as human beings, are capable of that lift our spirits.

This entry was posted in Life with Mom. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to All work and no play…

  1. Jill says:

    Beautiful! You have to frame this!

  2. Ann says:

    I like your philosophy,Diane! The watercolor is lovely. I’m looking forward to more

  3. Rachel says:

    Is this your first watercolor? This is amazingly beautiful. You have such an eye for color.

  4. Diane Fiore says:

    Rachel, You were my inspiration and first watercolor teacher, and I thank you for that. This is my first “real” piece…kind of doodling.

  5. mafarckle says:

    I like your thinking and your picture is beautiful.  I love the colors.  Thank you, Mom

    ________________________________

  6. Maria Wulf says:

    Good choices Diane and beautiful painting.

Leave a comment