Crossing Bridges

~Living with Non-Hodgkin’s Lymphoma in the Rear view Mirror~

 

I crossed a bridge today that had a clearer path in front of me than the many bridges I’ve crawled across during these last 2 years.  Yesterday was the two-year anniversary of waking up in the middle of the night with excruciating pain that led me across what felt like a wobbly and swaying branch that was not fit to hold me up.

I had a six month CT Scan last week and met with my oncologist today for the results.  The report was good.   There’s still an area that shows up but it’s a little smaller than it was six months ago, and a lot smaller than a year ago.  This indicates that it’s likely that there’s no active disease.

My doctor wants me to have one more scan in six months, and if it goes as well as these last few scans have, he said I will be deemed cured.  I’m not going to argue with that, but I will remain realistic knowing that I had this disease for some unknown reason, and because it’s unknown, there’s no way of knowing if it’s really gone or will be triggered again.

If I’m smart, I will never forget my bridge adventures, but will also not live in fear.

My ordeal reminds me of a quote by Joseph Campbell:

“The cave you fear to enter holds the treasure that you seek.”

My treasures are too numerous to count or name here as a result of my diagnosis.

I’m assured that my wandering during these trying times was really an era of enlightenment.

I have so much to celebrate, to be thankful for, and to cherish.

I bow before the universe for how well I’ve been taken care of.

Message to self:  Carry on, Diane.

This entry was posted in What Else: About Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Crossing Bridges

  1. maria says:

    Oh Diane, I’m sitting here crying reading this. I’m so happy for you. This is wonderful news. I’m sending a big hug and kiss to you. You are an inspiration!

  2. You are a fabulous writer, Diane, and I rejoice at your good news. My love and admiration to you for being you and the courage you show.

Leave a comment