Three Short Stories

A full and busy mind, with many things that also require lots of footwork can affect one’s ability to see and share things creatively.

So I’m just going to tell about three recent and unfolding stories in a matter-of-fact manner.

Story Number One:

I had a PET Scan on April 26th as a 3-month follow-up from the last one at the end of January.  I had an appointment with my Hematologist on May 1st, and while in the waiting room and then the exam room, trying to manage a whirlwind of emotions, including fear, uncertainty, acceptance, peace, and hope.   He told me to come back in three months, that everything looks stable and even a slight bit better.  I still have an area that lights up, but it seems like it’s a combination of calcification, dead cells, and other non-worrisome junk.   I can’t describe the relief and gratefulness I feel from this news.

The next story has resulted in the same feelings that this story did:

Fear, uncertainty, acceptance, peace, hope.…and gratefulness.

Story Number Two:

Yesterday, my mother moved into a skilled nursing facility.  It hit me like a lightening bolt less than two weeks ago that she needed to be where there’s more care, attention, and opportunities for socialization, and I need the same.   It was a difficult day for both of us, but we’re both adjusting.  The staff think she’s cute and sweet.  And for her first full day, (today) she attended an activity where the main attraction was a pink pot-bellied pig named Bacon Bits.  I was lucky enough to be at the pig event too.  After a while, I asked her if she wanted to go take a nap and she said “no, not until the pig leaves.”

I knew at that moment that this was the right decision.

He really is pink under his sweater.

Story Number Three:

I bought a bicycle!

I pick it up next week and plan to pedal down the river and through the woods, and leave my cares behind for a while!

This entry was posted in What Else: About Life. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Three Short Stories

  1. Glynny Schiavoni says:

    Talk about a whirlwind, maybe you’ll wake up in Oz!
    We love tou,
    Glynny and John

  2. Nancy and Joe Ballone says:

    Oh my goodness… so much going on! Congrats on the upbeat health news, Diane. Positive thoughts. Regarding your mom’s next chapter…. I know it’s hard…Emotionally unbelievably hard …. But I also know that she will be happy, safe, and will adjust. I can’t imagine my mother at OLM without all that you did for her. Think positive — someone will always be there for her emotionally and physically. Meals will be provided, she will make friends, and she will have so much to tell you when you come to visit… and we all know how caring, loving and attentive of a daughter you are. God bless you both. You will both be in my thoughts and prayers. xo

  3. Bob & Joanie Flanagan says:

    Poopies has a table for you.
    Cuz we like you.

  4. Ann McKinley says:

    I’m so happy to hear you are healing Diane, even if it’s a slow process. Placing your Mom in care was huge…..thank goodness that pig showed up to ease the transition! Seriously, you and your precious Mom are in my prayers. ♡ Now get out there and ride that new bike! 😃

Leave a Reply

