PET Scan Results

Living with Lymphoma.

I had my appointment with my Hematologist today, and unfortunately, my PET Scan from Monday showed residual disease.  My Hematologist has recommended three rounds of a different and harsher kind of Chemo to wipe out the disease, and then have a Stem Cell Transplant. The transplant he’s referring to will be using my own stem cells which will need to be harvested and put back in.  I’m not sure of all of the procedures or the sequences yet, but I’m sure I’ll be close to an expert some day. 

My doctor wants me to go back to Boston for a second opinion about this.  I already have an appointment for that next Thursday, and I have another appointment with our local Stem Cell Transplant Doctor here in town on the February 15th.   So the next route of treatment is not set in stone yet.

As I look back on my unplanned expedition, I realize that I started not feeling well last February.  It’s been a year now, and so much has changed for me.  I’m going to be contemplating how this has affected me in all ways, including physically, emotionally, spiritually, etc., and likely writing about it.  It’ll be therapeutic to continue sharing my story with all of you, even though I know I don’t know some of you.   I thank all who have read my stories.  I indebted and grateful.

I painted the scene below this week with my friend Ben, and my friend Trish wrote a poem to go with it that I thought was absolutely beautiful.  Wonderful connections with people I know and people I don’t know is the gold ribbon that keeps me going.

A Shadow Set Aside
She bustled out in haste beneath a red umbrella
-that elegant extension of her soul.
Never for a moment to be thought of, or thoughtlessly left behind.
Soon her lonely purpose slowed to the pace of the surrounding fog
a sigh
a slight smile
the worry set aside for a time
this time
is one of beauty.

ccf02012017_00001

The other day, a friend of mine said to me: 

“You have to win, and so you will”. 

It’s been my mantra all week. 

I know this was not good news, but I haven’t given up hope.

This entry was posted in What Else: About Life. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to PET Scan Results

  1. Glynny Schiavoni says:

    Sweet Diane….. No words, just love.
    Glynny and John

  2. Lucie says:

    We haven’t given up hope either, Lady Di. Sending our love.
    Lucie and Helen

  3. Peter Gallagher says:

    Your words and your art are a powerful expression of healing you are sharing with us all who are walking with you. Thank you for allowing us to join you in this journey, to inspire us to look at our
    own “dark spots” and to be able to hold you up in those moments you need us to.

    Beyond hoping,beyond wishing,,,,
    ….is having my gut feeling of knowing you will WIN!

    You are surrounded by love!
    Blessings, Peter (& Terry)

    • Diane Fiore says:

      Peter, I’m so lucky to have you on my team. I appreciate the positive thoughts. They lift me up each and every time. Thanks for following along. Much love to you and Terry.

  4. Ann McKinley says:

    Diane, creating beauty in words and pictures in the midst of uncertainty IS winning. You continue to bless me with your strength and courage. Love to you,my far away friend. 😙

    • Diane Fiore says:

      Ann, Our lives have taken us to busy places. Although so far away from each other, you’re in my heart, always. Thank you for being that special and unusual friend. Much love being sent your way. Diane

Leave a Reply

