A Team of Physicians

Living my life with lymphoma.

Since my last post, I’ve met with a radiation oncologist and a stem cell transplant (SCT) physician.  I learned that I’m not a candidate for radiation because of where the area of disease is located and the size of it.  Although most of the area is disease-free, it’s speckled throughout and radiating that large of an area would cause permanent kidney damage.  We agreed that fixing one enormous problem would only cause another one, so radiation is not an option.

Next, I met with the SCT doctor who ultimately said that I don’t look like a person who needs a SCT.  She explained some complicated things about some components of my disease and the fact that I’ve only had one line of chemo.  She discussed this with my hematologist and the doctor I saw in Boston in July and initially said that she thought that 1-2 more rounds of chemo would do the trick.  Then they all agreed that the chemo that I had (6 rounds) is likely still working and recommends another PET scan in 6 weeks.   My hematologist also said that the research suggests that two more rounds of chemo is not likely to be beneficial and can become toxic.

So, this past week has been a combination of waiting, wondering, worrying, mentally preparing for a STC or more chemo, and an abundance of uncertainty.  I’m left having to put my faith in my medical team, knowing that they are doing their best with the knowledge and experience they have, which far surpasses mine.

As I write this, it’s snowing and looks amazingly beautiful.  I even feel well enough to shovel.  I tell people that if I didn’t know I had a disease, I wouldn’t know I have a disease.

I feel good and for today, that’s good enough.

birch-trees

My latest painting from my watercolor class.

 

This entry was posted in What Else: About Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Team of Physicians

  1. Glynny Schiavoni says:

    “Sufficient unto the day is the trouble thereof.”
    I love you.
    Glynny

  2. Ann McKinley says:

    Diane,Life is filled with so much uncertainty. The counter balance of all that uncertainty is Hope. Whatever struggles we face each day, hope sustains us. There is so much hope in the doctors saying the chemo you’ve already had is probably still working. Hold that image! One thing I know for sure,your artistic talents are exploding! I LOVE Birch trees and your painting is MAGICAL! This scene should be on a greeting card.

  3. Helen Tarof says:

    Dear Diane Your posts always show me the beauty of your spirit,just know that God also has his
    hand in all of this. JUST KEEP THE FAITH!! I to Love your paintings.
    With much Love Helen

Leave a Reply

