Hope is Everywhere

Living with Lymphoma

Last week I saw Mrs. C at the grocery store.  I avoided her because I didn’t want to talk.  Sometimes, I just don’t want to talk about my health situation.  Mrs. C was the mother of a friend of mine from high school and bowling, and was our traveling league driver and coach.  She was loved dearly by our team because she was calm and encouraging, and allowed us to have fun.  She even sat quietly for the many Chinese fire drills we pulled at various intersections.   We loved her too because she reminded us of Mrs. C (Cunningham), Richie Cunningham’s mother.

When I was checking out my groceries, she was in the next lane.  Our eyes locked.  We both got through the lines and stepped aside to talk.  She calmly asked me what was new and I told her.  She said that it was funny because the same thing happened to her about 20 years ago.  I wasn’t sure if I understood…You had lymphoma, I asked.  She said she had it throughout her body and received multiple treatments.  Although I wasn’t glad to hear that she had to go through having this disease and the uncomfortable treatments, I was glad to see that she survived well and was willing to share it with me.   Before we parted, she told me I would be OK.  Only God knows that for sure, but I’m always happy to hear people say that to me.  I left the grocery store feeling grateful for my unanswered prayer of avoiding her.

I had my fifth treatment today.  It was my first without my friend Jill.  She went back home to Florida last week after being here for three months.  I went solo.  Less than an hour into it, Brian surprised me with a visit.  After he left, a man came in for a treatment and sat in my area.  We got talking, and I learned that his wife had lymphoma four years ago and was still in remission.    He was dealing with another kind of cancer that kept cropping back up.  When he started with this a few years ago, there was only one sure drug used for treatment that wasn’t very successful.   Since then, another more promising chemo was approved, and he has been receiving it for two years, every three weeks.  He was told today that this was his last treatment, and he was trying to absorb the meaning of being discharged.  What will he do now that he doesn’t have to think about and plan for treatments?  He’s a retired Army Colonel and wants a civilian job.  It was impossible for him to look for a job where he would have to be out of work for a week every three weeks for treatments and the after affects.  He’s now free to do as he pleases.

I hope he’s out celebrating tonight with his wife.

My encounters with Mrs. C and this man give me hope.  Not only because they both had successful stories about survival from Lymphoma, but also because there are new treatments being worked on and developed every day in all areas of cancer which in itself, gives the promise of hope.

Sometimes, that’s all a person has to go on…and it can be pretty powerful.

100_9523

The nurse assured me that my hair looked OK for this pic.

100_9522

Two nurses sang, danced, jumped, played the tambourine, and blew bubbles for my Chemo friend today to celebrate his last treatment.

 

This entry was posted in What Else: About Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Hope is Everywhere

  1. Glynny Schiavoni says:

    Thought about and prayed for you throughout the day today. Your prayer was not unanswered, dear Diane, it was just answered in a much better way than you asked! I am so glad that GOD always answers, in His own way and time, giving us just what we need exactly when we need it, and not before.
    Sending you lots of love,
    Glynny and John

    • Diane Fiore says:

      You are so right, Glynny. We get what we need at the precise time we need it. And we never know what form it will take. It takes open eyes and an open heart to capture all of the goodness that comes our way. Thank you and John for your continued attention and prayers. Lots of love, Diane

  2. Nancy Gildea says:

    Diane…..I don’t know where you go for your treatments but if you ever need a ride or company, let me know. I can accompany you . Am always rooting for your full recovery. And….your hair does look just fine….(HEEEE).

    • Diane Fiore says:

      Wow…thanks for the generous offer for a ride and company, Nancy. I go to a treatment center that’s only a mile from my house, so it’s very doable. And I only have one left, and usually someone to talk to who’s in the same boat.

  3. Denise says:

    Diane~
    So sorry you are going through this and hope you too will be in remission and cancer free. Stay strong!!!! Thanks for sharing your story-as difficult as it must have been…love and prayers💕

    Denise

  4. Gill says:

    So sorry that you are having to go through this. I wish you hope and courage and positivity for the future. Thank you for sharing this difficult time. Sending you hugs and warm wishes. xoxo

    • Diane Fiore says:

      Thanks, Gill. I so appreciate what you share with us about your life. You have my full respect for carrying on as you do. Wishes for a peaceful and enlightening 2017.

Leave a Reply

