Peace, love, and be who you were meant to be…

Winter Scene 1

Many of us grow up thinking we know who we are. This illusion continues throughout adulthood and keeps us on a clear and narrow path. We do know our core…a small part of us that comes natural and needs no planning. We know what we’re capable of.

But we also go along being more sure of what we’re not capable of.   This defines a comfortable and non-challenging path for which we conduct or daily routines and plan for our uneventful future. Days, months, and years surely filled with boredom and monotony, leading to fatigue and poor motivation. We go to great lengths to protect our comfortable and self-imposed ways against the unknown and frustrations that can accompany exploring new waters.

Some of us, though, have an inkling that there’s something else. Something that adds sparkle to our lives and better defines the meaningful and important aspects of who we truly are.

I’m not into New Year’s Resolutions, but the New Year always seems like a turning point for new ideas or schemes to boost existing interests each time it comes around.

It’s also a time to review the year just lived. For me, these last few New Years have been more about wondering and patiently waiting for interesting and unexpected happenings and notions to come my way, than it is for planning out the year with resolutions.

I do have plenty of plans, but I also leave room for anticipating the unpredictable.

2014 brought an unplanned and fulfilling opportunity for us to be part of a special sailing program for people with disabilities.  And we can’t wait for the upcoming sailing season to begin again.

I was also pleasantly surprised with my interest in learning watercolor painting. I took a two-day Plein Air painting seminar on the shores of Lake George with expert Artist, Nancy Philo who has that knack for teaching and figuring out where each student artist’s abilities lie. This led me to private lessons with her that have me constantly thinking about creating, practice, and improving.

Cooking, writing, and photography took up more space in my head and my days in 2014 than the year before. And I expect 2015 to bring new opportunities, unexpected interests, and improved cooking, writing, and painting abilities.

I believe our challenge is to look for things to do that cheer on our creativity and to do them without fear of failure or worrying about what others think.

You will enrich your life immeasurably if you approach it with a sense of wonder and discovery, and always challenge yourself to try new things.

~Nate Berkus~

~A small collection of photos that illustrate my 2014~

2014: Kayaking, Snow Shoeing, and my first Plein Air painting class results.

008 017 017 016

2014:  Photography:  Nature.

MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA 011 001 006 005 010 007 005

2014: Creating snow scenes.

001 009

002 Snow Creature

Some of my paintings.  As is obvious, I’m still an elementary student in this enjoyable and meditative craft.  I painted the winter scene at the beginning of this post last night and was instructed by the Youtube sensation, Lindsey, the Frugal Crafter.

 Watercolor CCF12312014_00000

 CCF10182014_00000 CCF11222014_00000 CCF12082014_00000

 

This entry was posted in Heavenly News...and Other Nice Happenings, What Else: About Life. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Peace, love, and be who you were meant to be…

  1. Love this, Diane, including the beautiful painting at the top and that handsome snowman below. Happy New Year to you and yours!

  2. Ann McKinley says:

    Before I read your post,Diane,I was musing about New Year’s resolutions. Reading your words,I am thinking more of dreams and visions. They are close relatives,perhaps,however,resolutions seem demanding,absolute. Dreams and visions seem inspiring,inviting.

    I so enjoy your creations Diane. Please keep them coming! They are dreamy and soothing.

    I wish for you this new year,many days of happy sailing. You bring joy and meaning to so many through your generous soul. The freedom to pursue your artistic visions,so colorful and full of life and love. A heart full of peace and beautiful dreams. You take such good care of others,you deserve to feel that grace returned with interest.

    Thank you for your blog,which keeps me strong through tough times and brings me laughter,guidance and a sense of belonging.

    HAPPY NEW YEAR DEAR DIANE!

    From your West Coast Friend and Fan, Ann.

    • Diane Fiore says:

      Ann, The visions you’ve shared with me about life, love, and the pursuit of enjoying nature, scenery, and your beautiful dogs and kittens over these last few years have touched me and kept me believing in the goodness of life. Thank you, my dear friend from the West for always being there. Your style is timeless and enriching. Wishing you all the magic of the new days in this new year ahead. Westwardly peace and light on its way to you. Diane

  3. Glynny Schiavoni says:

    Wishing you Happy New Year and many blessings in 2015, dear Diane.
    I was just reading something that said ,”You can be pitiful or powerful, the choice is up to you.” I choose to be powerful!
    Love the beautiful winter scene, thanks for sharing yourself through your creative work.
    Love you, Sweet Diane.
    Glynny

    • Diane Fiore says:

      My Dear Glynny, Your wisdom for choosing Power over Pity is a path that you light so well. I’m forever thankful for our connection, and admire your steadfast commitment to always highlight the goodness. Wishing you and John much happiness and beauty in 2015. Much love to you, my dearest friend. Diane

  4. mafarckle says:

    You are TOO CUTE. You remind me of Aunt Alice, or as Jill would have said when she was little, Ant Aldice. You are so creative, and good at so many things. I love your pictures. You still have your sense of wonderment and excitement which help to spur me on. I first met you when you were about 8 years old. You still have the same wonderful smile. Love, Patti

    • Diane Fiore says:

      Patti, Likening me to “Ant Aldice” is an honor. Her philosophy for living will always be with me, and will guide me to keep looking around the corner for new and exciting opportunities. She never went to far from home, but became so worldly just the same. And the smile you saw on my face when I was 8, and hopefully still have has much to do with you. You captivated me then, and still do. Can’t wait to see you again! Love Diane

  5. dementedgirl says:

    Love the snowman Diane – what a happy little soul he looks 🙂

  6. i’m stilla-likin’ your faaaciality with internet (as in yr. reference to you tube frugal crafter) and yr. typing skills. keep going, good one.

Leave a Reply

