Honoring Veterans

“The willingness of America’s veterans to sacrifice for our country has earned them our lasting gratitude.” – Jeff Miller

CCF07072012_00001

My father, Al.

My father was a Staff Sergeant in the Air Force during the Korean War.  He and his friend Gil had decided to join together.  They signed up one day, and the next day they went off to boot camp.

Dad was never in combat, but was trained to carry out any mission that threatened our country or our allies.  While he was stationed in Germany, his friend Gil was unfortunately killed in a piloting accident in another location.

Today, as we celebrate Veterans’ Day, I’m reminded of the many people I know who served or are currently serving, and am grateful to them for their commitment and sacrifice to upholding and protecting our liberties and freedom.

Brian

Dad

Ernie (father-in-law)

Uncle Guy

Uncle Addie

Uncle Neal

Uncle Jim

Aunt Midge

Uncle Bob

Tim

Matt

Mike

Michael

Micol

Jessica

Stephanie

Ryan

Dan

Danny

Gerard

Jerry

Bob

Will

And although I never knew Gil, I know my father never forgot his buddy.  I thank him too.  He paid the highest price.

I also want to thank those who participated in my Veteran and Active Service Personnel project.

There’s still time to enter to win one of the hand-made ski hats that were given to me in the name of Veterans.

Post a comment on my Blog or email me at merganserscrossing@gmail.com letting me know that you recognized a veteran or an active service person.

Tomorrow, I’ll randomly pick five names from those who participated.

I’ll send each of the winners a made-by-Marilyn-the-American ski hat.

MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

“As we express our gratitude, we must never forget that the highest appreciation is not to utter words, but to live by them.” – John F. Kennedy

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Honoring Veterans. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Honoring Veterans

  1. rugernight says:

    Pops was stationed in Alaska. He wanted to go to Germany, but it didn’t happen for him. He too was in the Korean War. Not in combat but very proud for his duties he was given. Wonderful blog and thank you.

    • Diane Fiore says:

      Thank you for adding to the important stories of the lives of people from our history that continue to have a positive effect on our present way of life.

      My gratitude to your father for his willingness to serve.

  2. Barbara says:

    Diane, I just read your post and it brought tears to my eyes. I am so proud of the choices and sacrifices Micol and Jess have made in this oh so dangerous world. Thank you for remembering all our service men and women and bringing this to everyone’s attention on this day.

    • Diane Fiore says:

      Barb, Thank you for reminding me of Jessica’s service. I have added her name to my list and regret that her name was left off. Micol and Jessica are true examples of why we are all so grateful. They continue on with bravery even in this uncertain world.

  3. A great post to read today. Thanks, Diane!

Leave a Reply

