People, Places, and Promises

Last weekend, I braced myself as I strategized how I’d get through the upcoming week. I had so many extra things planned and I wasn’t sure how I’d get them all in with having the normal things to deal with like grocery shopping, laundry, and cooking dinner.

For many years, I worked six days a week. It was important to me then, but not so much now. I try very hard now to show up for opportunities that inspire or convince me of their valuable-adding and life-enhancing energy.

No longer will I put off ‘til tomorrow….

My long and nicely twisted week began with —

Sunday: Walk with the farmer. This interesting gathering took place at Denison Farm where we’re CSA Members (Community Supported Agriculture). Although I’ve been to the farm before, every time I go, I try my best to figure out how in the heck they do what they do. They pack hundreds of boxes every week for 22 weeks for the members to share the best that Organic Gardening has to offer. We learned from Brian the farmer that this exact land was the very first Organic Farm in New York State many years ago, and the third one in the country. The Denison’s didn’t own it at the time, but they sure have kept the magic going.

Monday: David Kalish book signing at our Library. I started reading “The Opposite of Everything” that night, and am not disappointed in the humor and funny twists he uses in a fictional way to highlight some of the things in his life that weren’t so funny.   He and I are Facebook friends and have been for a while, but this was the first time we met in person.   He’s now working on a play called “The Gringo Who Stole CHRISTMAS” which will be performed at our Proctors G. E. Theater in December. Another event that I don’t plan on missing.

CCF10072014_00002

Tuesday: Jon Katz Book signing at Battenkill Books with a bonus of the presence of George Forss who also recently released a book. Both books, “Saving Simon” by Jon Katz, and “The Way we Were” by George Forss, look like gems and I can’t wait to read them.

CCF10072014_00001

CCF10072014_00000

Thursday: I volunteered for several hours at our public radio station, WAMC. Aside from being immersed in the excitement of taking pledges and feeling the constant positive energy that the WAMC staff and volunteers produce, I also had the pleasure of sitting in between some interesting people whom I got to chat with when our phones weren’t ringing. One man was feverishly writing and has had some of his musing published, while the woman on my other side explained that she is a Parent Whisperer. She teaches parents how to successfully execute the ever-important role of parenting. When they left, two other people flanked me on both sides who were equally as interesting. It was a fulfilling day on so many levels.

Friday: Was the Nancy Philo Art Show at Rock Hill Bakehouse Café in Glens  Falls. I met Nancy this summer at a Plein Air Painting workshop at the Wiawaka Women’s Retreat center on Lake George. Not only is she a masterful artist who uses a multitude of mediums, she is also an art teacher with a knack for understanding where individual students are coming from. She gives lessons at her home and I begin my first of a series of art classes with her next week. I’ll tell her that my skill level is like a Kindergartener, and she will teach from there. She won’t be shocked by my elementary art skills as she has seen my work. I need these lessons badly!

Saturday: The Ethan Bortnik concert at the EGG. This kid is a 13 year old pianist, song writer and composer. He started playing piano at the age of 3 and composing at 5 years old. His theme is “The Power of Music”, and he believes that music can change the world. His parents are from Ukraine, and I’m quite sure he knows of the unrest and atrocities that are going on in that part of the world. He stood up after every song and engaged the audience, and even had us singing and dancing. He supports charities through his work, and is wise way beyond his years. Being is his presence was truly an honor.

CCF10122014_00000

Sunday: Open House at Bedlam Farm. The gatherings at Bedlam always bring good people together who appreciate the creative endeavors of Jon Katz and Maria Wulf. Brian and I met some interesting people, saw some old friends, the donkeys got their apples, and Lenore the lab got another one of Brian’s irresistible massages.

MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

In the middle of this insane week, I read a post from Donna Wynbrandt’s Blog that  masterfully described the importance of peace and friendship. It’s called “Three Meetings a Day”, and it’s worth reading.

MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

Donna and I at the Bedlam Farm Open House today.

A few days ago, I got an email notice from a virtual Alzheimer’s Support group that I belong to outlining a study that’s being conducted on caregivers of people with Alzheimer’s and Dementia. Since that’s my current mission in life (Brian and I live with my mother who has Alzheimer’s) I stopped what I was doing and entered the study. The study measures cognitive functions of caregivers, and I aced all of the areas except the memory portion. No surprise, and I don’t plan on worrying about it.

At another point in my busy and enlightening week, I saw a quote from Kurt Vonegut that sums up my quest to live a creative and meaningful life.

“Practicing an art, no matter how well or badly, is a way to make your soul grow, for heaven’s sake.  Sing in the shower.  Dance to the radio.  Tell stories.  Write a poem to a friend, even a lousy poem.  Do it as well as you possibly can.  You will get an enormous reward.  You will have created something.”                  -Kurt Vonegut

This quote reminded me that I wrote a song a few weeks ago.  I had been in my car listening to music on the radio, and it occurred to me that I could write a song. I went home that night and wrote one. But since I can’t write music, I chose to write my lyrics to the tune of one of my most favorite songs:

The Mary Tyler Moore song – “Love is all Around”

Here it is…”Everything’s Alright.”  I sing and dedicate this to myself and all caregivers of people with Alzheimer’s.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Everything’s Alright

When a child wakes up and sees her life

Does she knows her family, and know everything’s gonna be alright?

But the years leave her wondering and sad

They also leave her cheerful and glad, I know this

 

Everything’s alright, I sure can see this

No one’s gonna tell me that I can’t handle this

I’ve had this assignment all along

I’ve had this assignment all along

 

What will the future hold for me?

I can see some possible things, but there are just no guarantees

I won’t waste any time on worrying

‘cause there’s just too much more to living, I know this

 

Everything’s alright, well I just know it

I’ll continue on with the hope that holds it

I’m gonna live life and have a ball

I’m gonna see it as my call

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

**Twinkle**     **Sparkle**    **Glimmer**   **Promise**

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Now. For. A. Much. Needed. Rest.

 

This entry was posted in Heavenly News...and Other Nice Happenings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to People, Places, and Promises

  1. Of course I so love this post for so many reasons! Very excited about the study and very excited that you got to the Open House. You sure had one busy week! Wow!

  2. bittygirl51 says:

    OMG, Diane! You have been a very busy lady…but sounds like very worthwhile endeavors!

  3. dementedgirl says:

    Oh my goodness! Your life sounds much more interesting than mine!

Leave a Reply

