Pretending to be my mother

Life with Mom

This is a story of a shared life with Mom after her diagnosis of Alzheimer’s Disease.

002

One of the benefits of living with my mother is that I can impersonate her. What I mean is I tell people over the phone that I’m her when it’s a nonsense call. It’s maddening to receive these almost-daily calls, all pitching their lame attempt to convince me that I (my mother) can’t live without their product, or even worse, others won’t live unless I (my mother) dole out money to support their cause.

I always begin my response in a mannerly way out of personal integrity, self-respect, and well, because I’m impersonating my mother. Some get it and return the kindness, and some don’t. I used to answer by saying that my mother can’t come to the phone and ask what the call was about. Most times I would be hung up on.  That was more infuriating than the call itself.

It finally dawned on me to just pretend to be her.  That way, I can address the imposition and ask them to remove me (my mother) from their list or whatever method they use to contact their victims.    Sometimes it works, and sometimes it doesn’t.  It really boils down to managing the number of callers because when one group stops calling, another has added my mother to their “justified bothering people” list.

Our daily lives are often complicated and tiring enough by work, doctors’ appointments, getting meals and just getting from point A to point B without the added annoyance of unsolicited callers insisting that they know what’s best for us.

I’m pretty resourceful and will get the things we need, or initiate my own phone call if we need help or information.   We don’t need calls from strangers whose interests are really their own and not about our well-being at all.

Seniors are targeted all of the time. Unfortunately, not all are lucky enough to have someone impersonate them to shield them from this constant hassle.

This entry was posted in Life with Mom and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Pretending to be my mother

  1. mafarckle says:

    Diane there is a government line to post your phone number so solicitors will not bother you anymore.  It is “national do not call registry”.  Patti

  2. dementedgirl says:

    Hello,

    Am a fellow Alzheimer’s caregiver (in my case to my mum-in-law) with a dementia blog and found yours through the WordPress reader – am sorry to hear you find yourself in the same position…

    Feel free to stop by at mine at http://www.dementiapoetry.com!

    DG x

    • Diane Fiore says:

      Thanks for stopping by. I checked out your Blog, and your poetry as a means of expression is very powerful. So many are experiencing similar situations. Writing sure helps.

Leave a Reply

