Wild (Life) Entertainment!

I may not be full of “company etiquette”, and never was one for following the crowd for doing the “proper” thing, but I think I can hold my own when people visit for dinner or for any other reason. Last night was no exception. I can keep a conversation going, and either people are truly interested in what I’m saying, or they’re pretending. I spend no time wondering about that.

Six of us were sitting around the table having dessert last evening. I was telling the story of last summer when Merlin and Averill, our Plotthound and Whippet mutts, were running across the back yard with a young woodchuck in their mouths. All eyes were on me. I was the only one facing the sliding glass door. As I was telling the story, Merlin appeared at the glass door with a full-sized rabbit in his mouth.   Averill was behind him looking like his trusted assistant.

To my guests, and to Brian and my mother, it looked like part of the story when I started pointing wildly at the glass door. Not a thing was coming out of my mouth, because I couldn’t believe what I was seeing. Everyone continued looking at me to hear the next part of the story when a few people finally turned to see if I was really pointing at something because my story seemed to go stagnant. Finally! I had help! Brian got up and yelled “DROP IT” and banged on the door. Merlin dropped the frightened rabbit. Brian opened the door and ordered them in the house. The rabbit bounced off, down the stairs, and back into the wild.

Once again, the dogs were so confused. Hunting and catching (and if they had time, killing) their prey is natural and instinctive. And here we are yelling “DROP IT!” Their demeanor for a while after these incidents seems like is one of confusion, frustration, defeat, and bad, bad-dog syndrome. I share some of these feelings as our animals in our “civilized” society are not allowed to act like the animals that they were created to be.

So although I would like any company we have to leave with nice and unforgettable memories, these friends certainly got an unforgettable one. I got a message from them this morning saying “Dinner, company, and entertainment was all top-notch and first class!!!” So I say thank you to them for understanding and for lightening an extremely stressful situation.  You’re all good sports.

Please come again, if you dare.

022

Merlin sensing his surroundings ~~ like he’s supposed to do.

 

This entry was posted in Life with Mom, What Else: About Life. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Wild (Life) Entertainment!

  1. Glynny Schiavoni says:

    Thanks for the laugh! Good dogs! Good Brian!
    Love you guys,
    Glynny

  2. Raining Iguanas says:

    Sounds like a ball to me!

  3. beecee554 says:

    I love a story with a happy ending!

  4. maria wulf says:

    Great Story and beautiful photo!

    • Diane Fiore says:

      Thanks Maria…I’m so afraid to let the dogs in the house without first ensuring that they don’t have a critter in their possession. Merlin’s plan was clearly to bring the bunny in…oh my!

  5. Ann says:

    Oh! Never a dull moment in The Fiore household! You are so right, Diane! It must be so frustrating for domestic animals sometimes, straddling the in-between Worlds of Wild and Tame. It’s nice to hear someone vocalizing this and with a funny story as well! Glad Bunny got away!

  6. Diane Fiore says:

    “Straddling the in-between worlds of wild and tame” is a perfect way to put it, Ann. You describe the dilemma well. And “never a dull moment” is about right!

Leave a Reply

