The Stylish Woman

As a home care occupational therapist and someone who gives instructions and recommendations to patients to support healing and safety at home, I’m good with knowing that I do all I can to educate people about their recovery, safety, and function.  I give reminders and encouragement if I notice they haven’t followed my recommendations, but I can’t make them comply.  That’s up to each patient.

My mother on the other hand, follows every recommendation given.  And, as it turns out, is considered a very stylish woman.  We learned this at her second orthopedic follow-up visit last week when her orthopedist said “You look like a very stylish woman.  I’ll bet you don’t use your cane in public.”  I snickered (hope he didn’t notice) because my mother is a reasonable realist and is not moved by what the public thinks. It’s possible that she might forget her cane when she goes out, but would never avoid using it in public because of vanity.  That’s not who she is.  Never was.

So once again, in Mom’s “style”, she could care less what people think of her, especially at the expense and detriment of her safety and well-being.

*******************

March 22, 2014

Dear Mom,

Thank you for being such a logical, practical, rational, sensible, intelligent, and wise mother and person.    Your life lessons continue to be absorbed by me.  Thank you for the continued teachings, and for being such an easy roommate and “patient”.

Love,

Diane

CCF03222014_00001

(She reads my Blog.  I’m sure she’ll agree that she’s just a “law-abiding plain-Jane”.)

This entry was posted in Life with Mom. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Stylish Woman

  1. Glynny Schiavoni says:

    Gotta’ love those Plain Jane types! From one Plain Jane to another, I say. “You go, girls!”
    Love,
    Glynny

  2. Diane Fiore says:

    Us Plain Jane types gotta stick together. We’re in good company, Glynny!
    Love ya! Diane

  3. mafarckle says:

    That is so cute. 

  4. maria wulf says:

    Sweet. Love your drawing of Mom it shows how you feel about her as much as your words.

  5. Ann Fiore says:

    Thank you Diane for the nice words.
    Thank you for appreciating the love and concern I have for you as your mother.
    Thank you for drawing such a beautiful picture of me.

  6. Glad your mom is such a “stylish woman” doing what’s best for her. I’m happy to hear she is doing well and getting back to routine.

  7. Ann says:

    Your creation is so beautiful Diane! I love it! I think you should illustrate a book with them.

    I’ve been away too long…….

    Glad to hear and see that your Mom is doing so well. You are two very special, blessed women.

    • Diane Fiore says:

      Thanks again for your kind words, Ann. I need a little more instruction and practice before I could even entertain illustrating a book. Maybe I could start with a stick-figure book…

      • Ann says:

        That’s just it Diane. Your colorings are perfect now, just the way they are! So,yes! Do the stick figure book! But they aren’t figures, really. They are infused with life, love and your charm! They are enchanting!

  8. Diane Fiore says:

    Ann, you speak poetic words. I believe you’re a gifted writer, artist and photographer. Share it all with the world, please.

Leave a Reply

