I’m a Believer

I started my car this morning to let it warm up.  As soon as I turned the key, I heard the words “Don’t worry, be happy” coming from the radio.  Grandma Mamie came instantly to mind because she loved this song.   Although my mission was to let the car warm up, I just sat there shivering while enjoying a warm glow that was certainly the presence of Grandma Mamie.

“In your life, expect some trouble – when you worry you make it double…” 

This song came out in the late 80’s.  I didn’t think much about it until one day when I went to visit Grandma.  Shortly after I arrived, she started singing this song, marveling about how positive it was and how important it was to live by its words.   She let me know that she couldn’t believe that there was such a song on the radio directing people to by happy.

“Don’t worry, don’t do it – keep a smile on your face…”

Grandma died 12 years ago today, on Bobby McFerrin’s birthday.

I think she was nudging me from another realm – reminding me to ditch worry and to live happy.

These little reminders are so like her.

So thank you Grandma for your continued presence in my life.

And thank you Bobby McFerrin for singing such a meaningful song.

Grandma Mamie would have loved you.

Grandma Mamie

Some happy times together…

 

This entry was posted in Grandma Mamie. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I’m a Believer

  1. mafarckle says:

    She is a wonderful woman.  How beautiful she came to you.  Love, Patti

  2. Ann says:

    A sweet, sweet story! No wonder you’re such a wonderful person, Diane! You have been blessed with such wonderful women in your life!

    • Diane Fiore says:

      Grandma Mamie was an amazing person. I have always hoped to be a fraction of the person she was. I often think: WWMD ~ What Would Mamie Do? She continues to guide from another plane. How lucky am I??

Leave a Reply

