About this anniversary…and don’t skimp on the blackberries.

Today, March 2, 2014 marks the one-year anniversary of us moving in with my mother.  Brian, Mom and I had a spontaneous conversation at breakfast this morning about this mile stone.   My mother went first by saying that she has easily settled in to her new life.  Brian chimed in and said the same.  I couldn’t help but agree with them about my adjustment to this living arrangement.  And we all agreed that the animals have adjusted well also, but our dogs and mom’s cat will NEVER get used to each other.  We just keep them separated  –  no big deal.

Brian made our breakfast.  He crafted his famous pancakes and added some of the frozen blackberries he picked last year.  We talked about how the blackberries will hopefully be as abundant this year as they were last, and I told Brian to not skimp on them in the pancakes.  After all, we’ll be harvesting more in the not-too-distant-future.

The idea of fresh wild blackberries is a symbol of hope for the much awaited Spring-time and the renewal of so many forms of life.  The battered mood from this long and harsh winter will be affected in the most positive of ways too.

To mark this day, I made a quiet promise to hang some artwork that has been sitting behind and in between furniture, and lying against walls for the past year.  I’m not sure what was holding me back from hanging them.  But this day has meaning, and it prompted me to get moving.  I found it ridiculous that it’s taken a year to do something that took me less than 30 minutes to do this morning.

Anniversaries, blackberries, artwork, Spring-Time.

There’s a common thread here.

It’s Hope.

 013

002

This entry was posted in Life with Mom. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to About this anniversary…and don’t skimp on the blackberries.

  1. Ann says:

    You have such a sweet life Diane. And not just because of the yummy blackberries! Thanks for sharing it and being such a grand inspiration.

  2. Diane Fiore says:

    The inspiration works both ways, Ann. You have inspired me from the beginning to keep writing. I owe you a debt of gratitude for that. Thank you, thank you, thank you!

Leave a Reply

