Making a Perfect Pair of Pants

CCF12062013_00000

Nine months after our move, and I’m still not settled.  We moved into my mother’s house WHICH WAS NOT EMPTY.  There are still four rooms that are choked with our stuff waiting to be processed…either thrown out, given away, or put to use.  I don’t think we can get away without storing a few things, but the amount of things we have, and this includes my mother’s stuff, is ridiculous.  In all fairness to her, it was my father who was the accumulator.  When they were working on the blue prints for the house many years ago, he focused on storage areas like closets, areas for shelves and lofts, and easy attic access…3 of them!  Well, Dad’s been gone for nine years, and it’s time to clean out.  This is a daunting task for one person – my mother.  Se we’re here to help.  She’s on board, thank goodness.

003

I’m a doer; a task oriented mover.  So little by little, all things will get done.  I actually emptied three boxes in the garage last week.  But this whole “matter” thing is getting in my way.  It’s holding me back from doing the things that are calling me.  As I clean out, I find that there are more things I want to explore, like sewing again.  I unearthed my mother’s sewing area last week and found patterns for things I’d like to attempt to make.  I used to sew when I was a kid.  I made a really cute top in Home Economics in 8th grade.  I have no idea what happened to it, but I remember the satisfaction of creating something myself, and wearing it.  If I could find the pattern, which may still be lurking around here, I could make another one, only 3-4 times bigger now.  Or maybe I could make a vest.  Looks like I have patterns.

017CCF12062013_00002

I bought a sewing machine many years ago.  It looks brand new, and it really is.  I think I used it twice, and both times it jammed up on me.  I’ve convinced myself that sewing machines and I just don’t mesh, and that the universe is trying to tell me something.  So I’ve listened because it has caused such frustration, but time and space has pushed me to consider trying again.

My mother and grandmother were superb sewers.  My Grandmother was a professional seamstress, and worked for a Shirt Factory in Glens Falls, NY.  There wasn’t anything she couldn’t make, and her and my mother teamed up during our childhood years and made us PJ’s, winter coats, skirts, vests, head bands, etc.  So, sewing isn’t foreign to me, it’s my machine that’s from another galaxy.

I found the old material that my mother made our winter coats from in the attic.  I don’t know where the coats are, but I’m thinking that I could make a cape…that should be easy, right?    I have a pattern for that too.

006 CCF12062013_00001

I also found the skirt my grandmother made for me when I was nine years old.  I love that maxi skirt – and the head band and choker that matched.

CCF12092013_00000 008

And, I found a costume my mother made for my brother when he was 12.  He was in an important play in Junior high and needed a costume.

CCF12092013_00001 007

A year and half ago, I met a nice young 19 year old guy.  He told me that his mother owned a sewing shop about 10 miles from where I live.  I have her name and number, and I have actually passed her shop a few times while working.  My next step is to stop in with my possessed machine and have her assess if it’s me or the machine, or both.  If it’s me, I’m willing to change.  If it’s not me, I will assume there’s hope for repair for my lightly used machine.

This entry was posted in What Else: About Life. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Making a Perfect Pair of Pants

  1. brecore says:

    LOVE!!!!! Mom is an amazing sewer/knitter/everything. She used to make us gloves all the time as kids, and we wanted to do poncho’s once, but just haven’t gotten around to it. 🙂 Can’t wait to see what you make! ❤

  2. Glynny says:

    If you ever get the quilting ” bug”, I hang out with a great group of very friendly, affirming and helpful ladies. Always room for another!
    Love you,
    Glynny

  3. Leslie says:

    I made an eyelet, cream colored blouse in my junior high years with the help of my best friend’s mother who sewed beautiful velour sweat suits (there’s a fancier word for them) – remember, they were popular with the ladies a few decades ago. I LOVED that blouse and was so proud of it too. I only use my machine for hemming or repair work now but am contemplating making some replacement valances over the Christmas break. You just might have provided the inspiration!

  4. Care says:

    I love those photos! When I was younger we all had those ponchos, and we made them ourselves. I am going to try to find the photo I have of my sisters each in our ponchos. Looking at that pattern brings back memories. I used to sew, but didn’t save anything. I wasn’t very good at it. Thanks for the trip down memory lane. Is that a picture of you in the skirt you said your grandmother made for you?

    • Diane Fiore says:

      I’d love to see a picture of all of the “A” girls in their ponchos! Please find it.

      And, yes…that’s a picture of me in my skirt when I was nine…with my grandfather.

  5. Ann says:

    I don’t know how you keep up with yourself,Diane! I like that your grandmother was a seamstress at a factory. So was my mother,before she came to America. She loved her job and had many friends. To hear her talk,it was the best time in her life. It broke her heart to leave that job. She continued to sew and made so many things. I like to bring her clothes she made over the years. It reminds her how productive and meaningful her life has been. Sometimes she says to me, ” I just got off work from the factory and rode my bicycle home.” This shows me how much that seamstress job meant to her.

    I loved the pictures!

Leave a Reply

