Thankfulness Challenge: November 27, 2013

I’m thankful for…

…my lamp re-wiring skills.

It’s surprisingly easy to rewire a lamp.  I mean REALLY easy.  I learned how to do this in a woodworking class when I was in college.  We all got to design and make our own lamps, and then wire them.  Brian didn’t believe me when I told him I could do this.  So I took a lamp apart one night and rewired it.  I’ll never forget the look of shock on his face when I plugged it in and it worked.

I can really only do small, simple lamps, although I tackled a 3-bulb-er once and was successful. It wasn’t easy, though.  And the floor lamps are out of my league.  So, whenever I see a table lamp, I begin assessing it to see if it needs to be rewired.  I can’t help myself.

As we await the arrival of our Thanksgiving guests today, we have left lamp lights burning as a welcoming gesture.  And we’ll be so happy to have them with us.

Yes, we have left the lights on for you, Vincent and Jon.

001

This is the lamp that I designed, lathed, and wired.

Lamp1

This was the difficult 3-bulb-er. I found it in my parent’s basement. It’s copper and extremely heavy. I suspect it’s an antique…one of my favorites.

This entry was posted in The Thankfulness Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Thankfulness Challenge: November 27, 2013

  1. brecore says:

    OOOOOO!!!! Aunt Diane, you totally have to teach me how to do this!!!! 🙂

  2. Ann says:

    Your talents never cease! Now you rewire lamps!!! I think it’s so cool how you shocked (pardon the pun!) Brian with your skill! The lamp you made is beautiful! And the antique lamp is something I WANT! Leaving the lamps on is such a warm and inviting gesture. I never use overhead lights unless it’s absolutely necessary. The cozy glow of lamps is much more relaxing and comforting.

    • Diane Fiore says:

      You’re too kind, as always, Ann. I too love lights from lamps. I actually just love lamps…I have to be careful not to collect to many. I do have a floor lamp I got from a junk yard once. It was rusty so I covered it with material…works for me.

  3. glynny@frontiernet.net says:

    I thought I was the only person who detests overhead lights!
    Happy Thanksgiving, sweet Diane, and Brian, too!
    Love,
    Glynny

  4. Diane Fiore says:

    Wishing you and your family a Happy Thanksgiving too, Glynny. Love ya! Diane

Leave a Reply

