Thankfulness Challenge: November 26, 2013

I’m thankful for…

…my little Art collection.  

Our move this year has forced me to be very conservative about what artwork I put out.   We just have too many things. I’m done collecting indiscriminately.  The art and pictures I’ve hung in our “new” home are special and meaningful.  The rest has to go.

This is hanging in our dining room.  I bought it several years ago soon after coming home from a trip to Italy.  The scene reminds me of the place we had lunch in the middle of the square in the town my Grandfather grew up in.  Our mission was to find his town that day.  We got there just in time for the town’s afternoon siesta, but we found a little open luncheonette and had a quiet lunch with a gelato dessert all by ourselves.

010

This little painting was painted by a Nun who was a friend of my mother’s.  She gave it to my mother when she and my father started a family.  It was hanging in my room when I was a kid.  I recently found it in her attic, and hung in the upstairs landing area.

018

Madeline DeVivo, who was a friend of my grandmother’s, drew this picture.  I found it in my Grandmother’s basement many years ago.  I found a suitable frame and have had it hanging ever since.  I think it’s a beautifully drawn winter scene, and I had no idea that Madeline was an artist.

020

My friend Rachel who is a writer and an artist drew this magical Hubbard Hall sketch.  It hangs right next to the front door for all the world to see.

025

My friend Kim, also a writer and artist made this interesting collage.  I’ve had it for months, but just got around to hanging it on Sunday because I had to have the matting re-sized so it would fit into a shadow box.  I did this to hide the 40-year-old intercom system that’s a non-working eyesore.  This space is in our dining room and has brightened it up.  I love looking at this fun and interesting piece.

021024

And as I’m writing this, I’m thinking of my sister-in-law, Brian’s sister, Joanne.  Today is her birthday.  She would be 48.  We lost her 11 years ago after a short illness.   She was a sweet soul who had a big heart.  After she died, I put a little collection of pictures of her together.  Although we will certainly never forget her, it’s nice to stop and look at her smiling face during simpler and happier days.

016

This entry was posted in The Thankfulness Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Thankfulness Challenge: November 26, 2013

  1. Helen Tarof says:

    Hi Diane What a sweet remembrance of Joanne while she is celebrating with Jesus on her earthly Birthday. Thank you Diane. Love Mom Helen P.S. HAPPY THANKSGIVING !!

    ________________________________

  2. Ann says:

    Your home must be so warm and inviting, Diane. Just like you……you are so thoughtful and put love into everything you do.

Leave a Reply

