Thankfulness Challenge: November 19, 2013

I’m thankful for…

…finding my old camp journal.

I keep uncovering things that I haven’t seen in years.  This is a result of our recent move and a new commitment to eliminate things that are not needed or are meaningless.  Labeling things “meaningless” and “not needed” is really not an easy thing to do, but when I come across some things, it can be a no-brainer:  Keep it/Toss it.

I found something over the weekend that I want and need to keep.  It’s my old camp journal from when we island camped at Follensby Clear Pond in the Adirondacks.  I’ve never kept a journal in my life, but something moved me many years ago to not only keep a journal, but to make the actual journal book.  I made it out of paper bags and cardboard, and covered it with wallpaper.

The journal began on May 29, 1994 and ended with our last camping trip, July 24, 2008.  It contains multiple writers, our like our camping friends Mark, Jill, Tim and Jean.  There are stories about the unpredictable and harsh weather that crept up on us at times, and how scary it is when a tent is your only shelter.  Stories about fishing, boats sinking, the books we were reading, and how my love for crossword puzzles was born.  More stories about Urkel tents, fire wood, and how much fun it was to watch the dogs run free on the islands.

I think my journal has found a new home on one of my bookshelves.   I don’t want to lose track of it again.  And someday, I hope to add to it by camping again.  There are still some blank pages that need words.

001

006

This entry was posted in The Thankfulness Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Thankfulness Challenge: November 19, 2013

  1. I love that you have multiple writers in the journal and you’re thinking about adding to it.

  2. Ann says:

    I love reading about other’s outdoor adventures! I’ll bet I would really enjoy your camp journal.

  3. Ann says:

    No way! Do it!

Leave a Reply

