Thankfulness Challenge: November 15, 2013

I’m thankful for…

…hearing old stories about my mother and her family from long ago.

Since moving back home to be with my mother, I’ve heard so many stories about when she was young.  Stories about her brothers and sisters, about her parents, and about her school days and her friends.

The other day, she told me the story about how her mother came to live with us in the late 60’s after my grandfather died.  During that year, when I was about five years old, my grandfather went into the hospital in April, died in July, and Grandma came to live with us in September.  She was 42 years old when Mom was born, so she was an older mother and grandmother, and was not living alone safely or enjoying it what-so-ever.

She lived with us for 12 years until she became so ill, that she needed more care than my mother could provide.  I remember it being 12 grand years.  She was a gentle and loving woman, who enjoyed watching us grow up.  She was also a big help to my mother who had five lively kids running around.  Grandma used to capture our attention by giving us sticky stars on a chart she made when we did something good.  We were always lining up for a star.

It was just natural having her with us.  I can’t even remember when she wasn’t with us.   But now, looking back, I also realize how lucky we were to have her so close, and being a part of all of our family gatherings, celebrations, and mile stones.  She died when I was 17.

I hope she felt as lucky to be with us as I did to have her so close.

007

This is Grandma’s high school graduation picture from 97 years ago. She should have graduated in 1913, but she had to drop out to work and help support her family. She returned and graduated at the age of 21.
She’s the second one in from the right.

CCF11152013_00001

Grandma loved babies and being with the family.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in The Thankfulness Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Thankfulness Challenge: November 15, 2013

  1. maria wulf says:

    How lucky you are to have such a woman in your life. Makes me want to cry.

  2. How wonderful to still be learning things about your Grandma from your Mom. Love the photos, too!

  3. Ann says:

    A beautiful story that brought tears to my eyes! No wonder you are such a kind,compassionate,loving person! AND she went back to get her diploma! She was awesome!

  4. This post gave off more warmth than a well stoked wood stove. I love the graduation picture.

Leave a Reply

