Thankfulness Challenge: November 7, 2013

I’m thankful for…

…Honey.

Local honey, that is.

CCF11062013_00000

About 15 years ago, I went to a community health lecture at one of our area hospitals.  Someone in the audience asked the physician who was giving the lecture if honey was useful for treating seasonal allergies.  The Doc began her answer by telling us that her Italian grandmother had an herb garden and used herbs medicinally her whole life.  Then she went into the honey explanation.  She said yes, local honey is thought to treat allergies.   Since she knew so much about medicinal herbs, she had my full attention when she educated us about honey.

I had allergies my entire life which included guaranteed sinus infections every April and September.  I bought a jar of local honey that week, and began putting a tablespoon in my coffee every morning.  That Spring, I didn’t have any allergy symptoms, and haven’t had any since.  I also haven’t had any allergy-related sinus infections since then.

The good doctor explained that when the pollen in the honey, put there by the busy bees, enters your system, you become desensitized to the allergens and your body no longer reacts in an allergic manner.

I’m living proof that local honey successfully treats seasonal allergies.  I have never forgotten how horrible allergies used to make me feel, and am forever grateful that I was at that lecture that night.  And since I recently had to give up coffee, I just eat a spoonful of honey right out of the jar every morning.

This entry was posted in The Thankfulness Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Thankfulness Challenge: November 7, 2013

  1. Ann says:

    No wonder why you are so sweet,Diane! Tee Hee! I’ve heard this too, and buy mine from the local farmer’s market,where,I also purchased some red potatoes and beautiful mini Walla Walla sweet onions and a bundle of carrots. All were UNBELIEVABLY DELISH! Purchase and Eat Local! It’s better for everybody!

    I LOVE your bee!

    • Diane Fiore says:

      You’re so funny, Ann! I’m guessing that the honey is why you’re so sweet too…plus, I think you were born that way. Eating locally grown whenever possible is a MUST!

  2. Elaine S says:

    Does regular grocery store processed honey do the same thing? I am not sure where I can buy local honey. I would like to give it a try.

    • Diane Fiore says:

      Hi Elaine, Our grocery store luckily carries local honey, but the kind they routinely sell, like Sue Bee honey could be from Argentina. It’s likely not local to any specific area. I actually get mine from both an apple orchard and a farm stand/store. “Local” means regional…in a large locale. A region with many of the same wild plants/flowers. Good luck, and thanks for visiting!

  3. Jill says:

    Love the bee! So cute!

Leave a Reply

