Thankfulness Challenge: November 4, 2013

I’m thankful for…

…Memory Foam.

When Brian and I moved in with my mother this past March, we decided that we deserved a King sized bed.  We shopped and shopped for a mattress.  Not an easy thing to do, because they all feel comfortable in the showroom.  We narrowed it down to Memory Foam, but had to choose from a variety of those.  I gave up and let Brian pick it out.  It turns out that it’s the best mattress I’ve ever slept on, and the King size adds to the comfort.  Since it’s foam, movements are isolated to the spot that’s being moved on, so when the dogs jump up, I never know, and never wake up.

As I age, it’s seems harder to get a good night’s rest.   So, I think this wonderful mattress has bought me a few more years of peaceful slumber that I may not have otherwise had.    And, after a weekend of hard work and physical labor, I needed a good night’s rest!

I’m also stretching out the benefits of that “extra hour” we gained Saturday night on my new memory foam goodness.

CCF10312013_00000

This entry was posted in The Thankfulness Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thankfulness Challenge: November 4, 2013

  1. Ann says:

    How Sweet It Is – a comfy bed and a good night’s sleep! With all my critters,I need a triple King Sized bed! YAY! Your drawings are back!

  2. bittygirl51 says:

    Our experience, unfortunately, wasn’t so positive! We shopped the showrooms, and then resorted to shopping online. We purchased our new mattress from usmattress.com and had it for about 2 years before we were able to get it exchanged. They DID exchange it (defective), but it was alot of writing and picture taking before it happened. (Not a cheap mattress, approx. $2500). Then, we got another comparable, but different comfort level, mattress from them and had it about 6 months before, once again, it had to be exchanged!! (Manufacturer’s defects again). This entire time, I was grateful for two guest bedrooms, that my husband and I would end up retiring to for a good night’s sleep. Now, we are on our third king size mattress which is still not as comfortable as we would like (but tolerable). No defects. We resorted to the old, flippable, double sided type. The only regret we have is the low profile box we got to go with it by mistake. We don’t blame usmattress.com. They have been excellent for customer service. We decided early in the game against the full memory foam type mattress due to heat factor. (Husband overheats profusely when sleeping). We’ve decided that we aren’t meant to sleep together. He’s big. I’m tiny. What he needs and what I need are two different things. That’s where I think we would have benefited from a memory foam from what I’ve heard, but hindsight is 20/20. Needless to say, many nights I still end up in the guest room. I usually start out in the Master, but the hard King size my hubby chose doesn’t meet with my comfort level requirements.

  3. Diane Fiore says:

    Wow, Linda…sounds a bit nightmarish…having to return not one, but two mattresses. It’s so important to get rest. Wishing you peaceful nights wherever you end up sleeping.

Leave a Reply

