Thankfulness Challenge: November 2, 2013

I was inspired on a daily basis during the November Thankfulness Challenge last year.  My sister-in-law, Debbie, and my cousin-in-law April, took on the challenge and wrote something they were thankful for every day.

I was impressed with their commitment to doing this.  

As Debbie and April are my inspirational guides, I’ve decided to take on the challenge.

So here goes….

I’m thankful for…

…hot chocolate.

I recently had to give up coffee.  My stomach decided that it’s had enough.  The need to have to do this came out of nowhere, and left me wondering what in the world will I do without coffee.   For a week I drank water in the morning while I waited patiently for an answer.  I despise tea.  Then it came to me…HOT CHOCOLATE!  I dismissed it at first because I thought I had to drink Swiss Miss which I never really liked as a kid.  Another idea hit me…find another brand.  So I did.  Then I began playing around with different brands and chocolate bars, with the idea that I’ll end up with the best cup of hot chocolate ever.

I look so forward to my special custom made cup of immense goodness every morning.  I wonder now what the craze about coffee was.  I don’t miss it at all.  And, just as my sister-in-law, Debbie, thinks her coffee makes her sparkle, I believe that this hot chocolate has the same effect on me…

Now I can’t imagine mornings without my cup of specially blended and lovingly made hot chocolate.

006008

This entry was posted in The Thankfulness Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Thankfulness Challenge: November 2, 2013

  1. Leslie McConachie says:

    I love the thankfulness project and I love your post. I have been noticing negative side effects of the coffee I drink. So you have provided a possible solution! I am thankful for your post!!! Would you like to share your recipe? I would like to try it. Thanks again!

    • Diane Fiore says:

      Leslie, I’m just kind of starting out with the hot chocolate, but I have found a combination that I really like. I use a square of Newman’s organic dark chocolate candy bar, some Silly Cow Hot Choc mix, and Lake Champlain Organic Chocolate. I begin heating up the milk, add the chocolate bar, use a whisk on it, then I add the powders and whisk some more, until the milk begins to steam. Sorry that I can’t say how much powder. I’m not a measure-er. I just do it to taste, and I have the idea that it can’t possibly be too chocolatey!

      Thanks for much for visiting! I’d love to hear how you make out.

  2. Ann says:

    I’m so glad you found a tasty,satisfying alternative to your cup o’ Joe in the mornings,Diane. If this ever happens to me,however,I’ll just use an antacid chaser with my brew!

  3. Maria Wulf says:

    The simple wonders of life

Leave a Reply

