Strolling Down Memory Lane

April 24, 2013

Life with Mom

—-This is a story of a shared life with Mom after her diagnosis of Alzheimer’s Disease.—

Every few days, I empty out a closet shelf or a storage space inside a piece of cabinet furniture.  The items in these spaces are my mothers.  She’s also going through things that need to be thinned out.  We have a silent agreement that it’s time to clean out.  I’m taking one tiny space at a time, and so is she.

The other day, I found a VHS tape that my father marked “Demolition of Old House”.  I remember that day well.  My parents had been wanting to eliminate our old farm house from the map because it was falling down and unsafe.  The fire department was considering burning it down for a training exercise for their members, but it was too close to a main road.  So, a demolition crew was hired to destroy it.

My father, with video camera in hand, and all of us looking on, we watched the razing of our old house.   It was the certain end of an era.    I remember feeling a little sad and helpless, knowing that this was the only reasonable thing to do, considering the aging and decrepit condition it was in.  It had been at least 15 years since we moved from that house.  I imagine that I may not have been so accepting of this had it not been for the distance of years that was between me and our old home.

I often pass by the land that this house stood on.  The huge tree that was in our front yard still stands, but the rest of the land is unrecognizable.  In other words, it’s hard to picture a house, with a yard, with a swing set, with a young family happily living.

I plan to bring the VHS tape to someone to have it converted onto DVD.  I’m really looking forward to reliving this event, and hearing just what my father had to say during the taping.  He was never lost for words.

Mamie and Nap

Grandma & Grandpa standing with their Blue Bonnet car. The old farm house in the background. 1960’s.

CCF04242013_00004

The old farm house 20 years later. An antique dealer had been living there.

This entry was posted in Life with Mom. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Strolling Down Memory Lane

  1. Helen Tarof says:

    Dear Diane Sorry I missed your return phone call today. I know how hard it is to part with some things, I remember leaving Highland Drive with all of the wonderful memories with the kids growing up (Fun times and Sad times) but that’s LIFE.  Thanks for the MEMORIES.  Hope you had a good day. Love Helen

    ________________________________

  2. Beautiful post, Diane!

    I am glad the tree is still there as a milestone.

Leave a Reply

