It’s All Good

Life with Mom

—-This is a story of a shared life with Mom after her diagnosis of Alzheimer’s Disease.—

April 14, 2013

My mother reads my Blog.  She gets all of my posts in her email.  I often ask her if she has read my latest entry.  When I asked her that this morning, she said “Oh, yes, that was good.  I liked it a lot.”  I worry that she may have a change of heart about me writing about the topic of “Life with Mom.”  So I asked her if it bothers her to always see the standing intro about “Life with Mom” with the word “Alzheimer’s.”  She said it doesn’t bother her at all.  So it’s all good.

I came across this “spare roll” cover a few weeks ago, and now it keeps resurfacing.  I laugh quietly every time I see it because my father used to wear it.  He was into wearing hats and glasses or sunglasses when he had Alzheimer’s.  I mentioned the spare roll cover in an older post, but I didn’t have it when I wrote then.  I didn’t even think it was still around.

When we would see him wearing it, we thought that it couldn’t be comfortable.  After all, his head was bigger than a roll of toilet paper.

  003

CCF01192013_00003

I came across this picture. Dad is wearing my Brother’s Harley get-up…including the glasses.

I love to see the dogs lounging together.  When we got Averill a year ago, Merlin had been an only dog for almost 4 years.  He seems to love her.  She thinks he’s great too.

002

This entry was posted in Life with Mom. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to It’s All Good

  1. Helen Tarof says:

    Dear Diane

    LOVE THAT HAT, Emma used to wear my cover  for the toilet paper, nice memories, KEEP THEM COMING!!

    Love Mom Helen

    ________________________________

  2. Diane-The “multi-use” toilet roll cover really hits home! Loves the picture of the dogs, too!
    Jackie

  3. Dave Fiore says:

    Diane,
    I was very saddened to learn of Aunt Ann’s diagnosis. Our family has had more than it’s fair share of that disease….especially you. Our thoughts & prayers are with you as you go through the process….again.
    I love the picture of Uncle Al wearing Paul’s riding gear. Ha! The spare roll hat is pretty hilarious too! My Mom loved to wear all manner of goofy hats toward the end too. As sad as it all was, we have many funny memories that still warm our hearts from this time with her.
    I am still amazed by the memory of your Mom & Dad dancing like Fred & Ginger (@ Gramma’s funeral reception, I think) at a time when Uncle Al was fairly progressed, he could still dance better than I could ever even dream of!
    Love you,
    Dave

    • Diane Fiore says:

      Dave, Your mother was an exceptional person…witty, funny, smart. And it seems that she never lost those attributes with her decline. Yes, we’ve all had our share, I think. That picture of my parents dancing is at Kari’s wedding. My father died in 2004…I think that picture was in October, 2003, right? Although fading, he still had the moves. Thanks for visiting. Love ya! Diane

  4. Ann says:

    I’m glad the dogs are happy together in their new home and you are writing more. It’s good to be able to share and laugh and remember. Make the most and the best of whatever you are dealt.

Leave a Reply

