Making Headway

Life with Mom

—-This is a story of a shared life with Mom after her diagnosis of Alzheimer’s Disease.—

April 12, 2013

I sold my big metal desk through Craigslist today.  Although I loved that desk, I couldn’t see hauling it down stairs, transporting it, and hauling it back up stairs.  I’ll find something else to put my PC on.

Someone’s going to look at another bed we have for sale tomorrow.  If that goes, then all of the big items that we couldn’t bring with us will be gone.  Good progress.

I went past an apple orchard today, and remembered what a horrible year it was last year for apples.  It got so warm in March that the trees started budding, and then we had a frost in April which damaged their early progress.  I eat apples all winter, and had to stop early this year because the orchards ran out of them.  Looks like we’ll have a good crop this year – I hope.

010

Beautiful tractor guarding the new apple trees. The Helderberg Mountains are in the background. Hard to see them through the mist and fog. It was freezing cold toady.

012

This tractor was at the orchard too. Looks like it’s retired and is now posing as field art.

I’m reading “My Beloved World” by Sonia Sotomayor.  I only have enough energy each night to read 3-5 pages.   It’s interesting so far.  I’m only on page 47.  Several people have told me I look like her.  I don’t see it.

006

This entry was posted in Life with Mom. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Making Headway

  1. Love the red tractor, mist and mountains!

  2. Ann says:

    Hmmmm……I’m not catching the resemblance,either,Diane. But then I’ve only ever seen you in photos.

    The tractor pics are great! I,too,hope the apple crop will be better this year for your area. It’s a bit dicy here right now,with cherries,peaches and apricots. All of a sudden,it has turned cold again! Apples haven’t bloomed yet……

  3. mafarckle says:

    I see some resemblance, but not alot.  As Alice would say?  I forgot who she used to call you?  You looked like whoever it was.  Love, MaF

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

