Fancy That

April 11, 2013

Life with Mom

—-This is a story of a shared life with Mom after her diagnosis of Alzheimer’s Disease.—

I have a few patients in our “new” town who live on the outskirts.  After leaving one of their homes today, I passed an interesting place that I didn’t know was there.  I never explored the town while growing up, and never really had an interest in knowing about its history.  But I do now, and want to go back to this public park that encompasses a small section of the Erie Canal.

005 008

Aside from the wild life that surly lives in and around the park, exploring the history of the Erie Canal sounds exciting to me.  Conceived 200 years ago, it was the first major national transportation system, carrying goods from New York City to the Midwest.  And it goes right through our town.

016 007

This will go on my virtual to-do list.

The super dog, Jack, I’m quite sure, has arrived in California.  On his trip, he helped navigate, he lead another historical tour for his family, and contemplated about what his new life will hold.  He undoubtedly admired some sunsets that veiled over California on the way out too.

He’s home now.   Live well, little buddy.

Jack and Micol

image_1365453703771367

Jack again

This entry was posted in Life with Mom and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fancy That

  1. Ann says:

    Hey! Those Canada Geese are everywhere! We have loads of them here. Soon they will be having their cute,fuzzy babies.

    I bet you miss that guy,Jack! What a cutie. Love the pic of him cruising with his human!

    I am picturing barges floating down this waterway,carrying things to……where does The Erie Canal end,Diane?

  2. Diane Fiore says:

    Ann, The canal begins in Troy, NY and ends in Buffalo, NY at Lake Erie, for a total of 363 miles. I’m embarrassed that I had to look that up! I think I missed that lesson in school.

  3. Care says:

    I get such an education from reading your blog! 363 miles you say? Interesting.
    I have missed reading since I have been in Indiana, so it is catch up time this weekend. Keep up the great work on the awesome stories you write!

Leave a Reply

