Tales…April 10, 2013

Life with Mom

—-This is a story of a shared life with Mom after her diagnosis of Alzheimer’s Disease.—

A friend came over the other day and was surprised to see that I had already hung pictures on the walls, and displayed others here and there.  My strategy has been to unpack and put out what I want to keep, so I can better see what we need to part with.  I’m considering having a garage sale, but I know it’s an enormous amount of work for potentially little payback, and I’m trying to reduce the amount of work I put on myself.

005

001

My parent’s wedding picture is on the left. Grandma Mamie is on the right. She was younger in this picture than I am now.

Some of the things that we don’t want to keep are better than garage sale value.  For instance, I have always loved the pictures below, and bought them one at a time as I could afford them many years ago.  They may have to go because I can’t think of where to hang them, but I also won’t let them go for $1.50 apiece at a garage sale.  So they may end up on Craigslist or Ebay.  If that doesn’t work, I may just find a nice wall for them here.  They have added specialness because I happened to see them in a scene on the movie “Powder”.  (I think that was the movie)

017

My last Watercolor Art class is tonight.  I’ve decided not to go.  I’m so very tired, and I keep putting off important things, like paying bills, laundry, and most importantly, calling my mother-in-law.  I learned a lot in the class…enough to paint simple things on my own.

CCF04102013_00000CCF04102013_00001

They don’t look too bad from a flying horse.  It was a great class.

This entry was posted in Life with Mom and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tales…April 10, 2013

  1. mafarckle says:

    Save yourself time and energy.  Put more expensive things on ebay and the others have a free garage sale.  Things will go quickly and you don’t have to spend days selling things.  Love, MaF

    ________________________________

  2. Ann says:

    Wow, Mafarckle,good advice! Sounds like you have been uber busy,Diane! Me too. Let’s both take it easy! I will,if you will.

  3. Ann says:

    P.S. I love the barn and green fields! In my dreams……..

Leave a Reply

