April 9, 2013

Life with Mom

—-This is a story of a shared life with Mom after her diagnosis of Alzheimer’s Disease.—

Since we didn’t move into an empty house, we’re faced with the daunting and lingering task of what to do with all of our stuff.  We cleared out 3 rooms in my mother’s house so we could at least begin “living”:  the living room; the kitchen; the bedroom.  Beyond our furniture, dishes, and clothes, we’re left with boxes and boxes of things that we don’t need.

And we still have things at our old house.   Last week, I put our sun room furniture and a headboard and bed frame on Craigslist and sold them within a few days.  It went so smoothly that I listed 4 more things with the hope that there’s someone out there who can’t live without these things…like we at one time thought we couldn’t.

015

This is just one staging area. We have three. But see, I at least set up my book-case.

While at work today, (on a home visit) I got a phone call from Brian with some bad health news about a close friend of one of his relatives.  It was hard to disguise my shock and sadness.  I quickly hung up and mentioned kind of casually to my patient that I received some bad news (I didn’t want to upset her, but she was listening and knew by my reaction that it wasn’t good).  My patient looked at me and said, “it may not turn out bad.”  I did a double take and said “Thank you for saying that.  You just reminded me that there’s always hope.”  I think she was happy to have made such a positive impact on me in my moment of need.

My boss met me for a home visit today as she is required to do 2 times each year.  We went to college together.  I ended up specializing in long-term care and sub-acute rehab, and she in home care.  Although it adds a little pressure when you’re being evaluated, I wish she could do more visits with me so I could learn more from her about occupational therapy in the home setting.  I’ve only been involved with this specialty for 2 years.  There’s always so much to learn.   We live in complicated times.

Funny how things change.  We used to be friends/acquaintances, (I graduated a year before her) now we have a boss/employee relationship.  Either way, she’s a great person and a great boss.

Mom had dinner with us again tonight.  She does this a few times a week.  I love to cook, and she needs to gain weight.  It’s a win-win situation.

004

This is a daisy bush that appeared in full bloom the week my father died. None of us planted it. We have no idea where it come from. I think it’s too late to cut it back now…maybe next year, if it survives.

011

More signs of Spring.

This entry was posted in Life with Mom and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to April 9, 2013

  1. Glynny says:

    Good morning, Sweet Diane,
    I enjoy reading all of your “stuff”. Just wanted to say hello and remind you that you are loved and being prayed for.
    Glynny

    • Diane Fiore says:

      Hi Sweet Glynny. Thanks for visiting. I’m eternally grateful for your support on this journey. Thinking of you and Mr. S. Be well. Happy Spring! Much love…Diane

  2. R.J. Fedler says:

    Ah, the life of boxes. I move often enough that most of my possessions remain boxed, so I don’t have to deal with the hassle of packing/unpacking. But it’s a pain when I want that one thing that I don’t often use, and it is, of course, buried at the bottom of the pile.

    And every time I move, more and more things find their way to the trash, so I don’t have to bother with them. It can sometimes be difficult deciding what stays and what goes. And I’ve only had apartments to condense, not a whole house. It must be difficult.

  3. Ann says:

    Moving seems to be an opportunity to see who you’ve been and how you’ve lived. I think it’s also an opportunity to see how you want to change and grow, envision and evolve. It’s also just a bunch of hard work!

    I think the daisy plant is prophetic. Spring up from where you are and bloom!

Leave a Reply

