Tales of our Times

Life with Mom

—-This is a story of a shared life with Mom after her diagnosis of Alzheimer’s Disease.—

Jon Katz pulled our group together again this past weekend to discuss, regroup, and catch up.  This created another opportunity for us to report and support.  I left Bedlam Farm with a new idea of starting a “Life with Mom” journal.

006

Whirly Birds at Bedlam.

So here goes:

April 8, 2013

I woke up late this morning because I was dreaming vividly.  I was dreaming that wild, dangerous pigs were roaming around our yard.  It took a while to get them out of my head.

When I gathered my bearings, I remembered the 3 ticks I’ve taken off our little dog in the last few days.  My mother also had a tick taken off her shoulder by a dermatologist last week, for which she’s on 3 weeks of antibiotics.  She took a tick off her cat, and then we caught another potential Lyme carrier walking across our counter last night.

015

This tick remover is never too far away these days.

All of these discoveries have led to the realization that we need to be hyper-vigilant about scanning ourselves and each other for ticks.  The dogs are getting extra petting and massages.   We never had this problem in our old neighborhood.

Our friend Jill came over this afternoon to help my mother with problems she was having with her computer and Turbotax.  The file was corrupt for some reason, so Jill fixed it.  She also helped me file mine, so we had 3 computers going at the same time all while I was trying to fix dinner.    Dinner was good despite the commotion.  And, it’s so good to have smart friends.

002

Mom and Jill working on our taxes.

After dinner, Brian got on the tractor to clear more leaves from the yard.  Although this kind of serious leaf clearing hasn’t happened in many years and really needs to be done, I think he was more doing it for the fun of riding on the tractor.  We didn’t need or have a tractor where we came from.

008

I’m going to bed now — just after I check the dogs for ticks one more time today.

This entry was posted in Life with Mom and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tales of our Times

  1. Ann says:

    Welcome to MY World! Just found a tick on Flynn’s head! This will be a bad year for bugs here,because of our mild Winter.

    Must be great to have the support and camaraderie of the writer’s group. I hope it encouraged you to keep writing! I love your blog! Can’t imagine going without it!

    Look at you computer geeks! So cool that your Mom is willing to use a computer!

    Boys and their Toys! Brian looks serious on the tractor. Just a front to hide his joyriding!

    Ticks be GONE for both of us!

Leave a Reply

