How We Got Here

Life with Mom

—-This is a story of a shared life with Mom after her diagnosis of Alzheimer’s Disease.—

MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

When Dad died in 2004, Mom began living alone and carried on well with her life.  We went on a family cruise, she went to Italy 3 times with Brian and I, and we took trips to NYC.

But a few years ago, while thinking of her future and how burdensome living alone can be, I began discussions with her about alternative living situations.  She went along with the idea of possibly moving, saying that anything was possible.  I kept an eye out for a small house or town house in and near my neighborhood.   Her and I also checked out 3-4 senior living apartments.  As I kept the conversation alive, I was slowly realizing that nothing was settling right for her.   She explained in so many words that she just couldn’t fathom breaking down her home and leaving.

I continued to secretly worry how I would manage things for her from a distance if the need arose.  If she had decided on one of the senior living situations, I realized that I would have still worried about how I could be there in a moment’s notice if needed.

So, the next logical thing was to explore adding on to our house to create a space that Mom would feel comfortable and independent in, while being close enough to Brian and I to help her if needed.  This option proved to be financially out of the question.  Done properly, the addition would have cost more than Brain and I paid for the house.

Shortly after exhausting this last possibility, Brian said to me, “We should just move in with your mother.”  I thought he was kidding.  He said he wasn’t.  Then I thought he probably didn’t fully think it out, and would retract his offer in a few days.

So I let a few days go by before checking in with him about this grand offer.  He said he meant it.  I then proposed it to my mother, and she thought it was a great idea.  She thought it was even better when I told her it was Brian’s idea.

Several months later and a serious dose of planning, packing and painting, we’re here with Mom – and her cat and little blind dog.

017

This entry was posted in Life with Mom. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to How We Got Here

  1. mafarckle says:

    It is wonderful of Brian and you to do this for your mom.  I love the pictures.  Love, MaF

    ________________________________

  2. Glynny says:

    Valor is not a term reserved only for our military folks. You and Brian fit the bill in my book.
    God bless,
    Glynny

  3. Ann says:

    Diane and Brian are WAY cool! AND you get a cat in the bargain! SWEET!

  4. Diane Fiore says:

    Ann, The cat keeps trying to get into our living area. He must hear the bark of the dogs?? Can’t figure out his angle, but he sure is cute.

Leave a Reply

