One Hundredth Post

CCF02202013_00000

A few years ago when I met Jon Katz, our Hubbard Hall Writer’s Group leader and esteemed Author and Blogger, I shared with him, my interest in writing.  He suggested that I start a Blog.   Although I appreciated his encouragement, borne from his sound wisdom and experience, I just had no idea where to begin.  I knew that it was something that I had to figure out sooner or later, and I put it on the back burner.  I was stymied.  I couldn’t possibly imagine what I could or would write about.  Furthermore, I worried about what I could write that would be interesting, and hopefully capture someone’s attention.  All questions for which I had no answers.

When our Writer’s Group formed in June, 2012, I knew I had to quickly find answers to these questions.  With Jon’s guidance, and the individual and collective wisdom of our group members, answers to the questions started forming, and Merganser’s Crossing was born.

Today, 8 months later I’m writing my 100th post.  I’m speechless about this number and this milestone.  Not in my wildest dreams or logical thoughts did I ever believe that not only would I be writing, but that I would also have an infinite number of ideas of things to write about.

What I think shocks me even more is having discovered my love for drawing.  Jon warned us that our stories must all be illustrated in some way — whether by photograph, drawing, or symbolism.

So, when I created the “Travels with Dad” series, I knew that I didn’t have photos to support all of the stories.  This meant that I had to begin drawing.  I could have pulled media off the internet, but that seemed so inauthentic.   In having to do my own illustrations, I discovered that while I may not have the skills of an art gallery artist, I so enjoy drawing, and think, at least in most cases, that my drawings have logically supported my stories.

So, while reflecting on these last several months and what they have meant to me, I can’t help but feel incredible indebtedness to Jon and my fellow group members for their support, their unmatched creativity, their steadfastness to their own dreams, and their never-ending support of each other.  None of this self-exploration and uncovering of a love for story telling would have happened without them.  For this, I’m eternally grateful.  Thank you, my special friends.

To my dear readers:  This endeavor would seem somewhat senseless without you.  I owe a debt of gratitude to each person who has visited.

I have also met a special cyber friend from the West Coast who motivates and inspires by sharing so much of her own life stories with me.  Thank you, Ann, for your kindness and willingness to share.

I know that some of my readers have read everything.  These people would be my three mothers.

My biological mother, Ann has not only read all of my posts, but has also contributed bits of information to many of them about my father.  Without her willingness to relive old times with me, coupled with allowing me to write about Dad and my special time with him, “Travels with Dad” wouldn’t exist.

My mother-in-law, Helen, has been so kind with her comments and encouragement throughout this project.  She has a unique understanding of the importance of human connections, and understood during the years that Dad and I hung out together.  I am truly blessed that my husband has an angel for a mother.

Mama Farkle, also known as Patti, is my dear friend Jill’s mother, who lived through so much of the early years with us, and knows firsthand of the difficult times that Dad and I had.  She has commented in one way or another on every one of my posts.  I thank you, Mama F., for the special attention you bestowed upon me when I was a young child, and for your continued attentiveness and guidance now.

Love, from the depths of my heart to my three special mothers.

This entry was posted in What Else: About Life. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to One Hundredth Post

  1. #101 awaits–so do we. Congratulations and good luck on you way to 200.

  2. Jackie says:

    Happy 100th! I have loved reading all of them and look forward to the next 100! You really have a talent for telling a story with feeling, genuineness and sincerity. Thank you for sharing.

  3. Kim Gifford says:

    Congratulations Diane — You’ve come a long way, baby! But you have and it’s been an amazing journey for all of us. I know that I have enjoyed and will continue to enjoy your unique point of view of your experience with your father. Something that you and your family addressed with love and humor where many of us I’m sure would not have dealt so gracefully. And, I for one have been a big fan of seeing your art talents blossom. It’s been inspiring to all of us in the group. I echo John in saying “Here’s to 200!”

    • Diane Fiore says:

      Kim, I’m keenly aware of your amazing talents, and often think of you as a guide for writing, art work, and photography. How lucky we are to be a part of this extraordinary group!

  4. Ann says:

    You are AWESOME Diane! Travels With Dad has helped me so very much with my own circumstances with my Mom and dementia. I am grateful to you for sharing this experience. Many,many times I have thought about you as I struggle to cope and manage with this often times overwhelming situation. ” What would Diane do?” I ask myself. You are brave, loving,enduring and creative. And your art work is REAL! I love it.

    Thank You for taking those first precarious steps and sharing your life and heart and talents. I anxiously await what is to come……..

    Your ” Cyber Friend Out West ” Ann!

  5. Diane Fiore says:

    Ann, I so admire your courage and openness as you continue on with your own struggles with life and love. Our friendship has helped to validate my experiences. I thank you.

  6. mafarckle says:

    Well Big Sissy Farckle, I am honored to be loved and appreciated by you, and to have been a positive and sometimes an eccentric influence in your life.  My happiest memories are of you and Jilly, and they

    make me smile and laugh so many times.  I miss our times together.  Congratulations on your 100th posting.  I did not realize that you had written that many.  Your stories are always interesting and many bring back memories, sometimes with smiles and laughs, other times with tears.  This has been an emotional journey for me also in watching you blossom with so much beauty.  I honor you for who you are now.  I also really love your drawings.  They tell as much of a story as the writings.  I become immersered when I am reading your posts and looking at your expressive pictures, and smile.  Thank you for being a part of my life.  Love, Mama Farckle

    ________________________________

  7. maria wulf says:

    Congrats Diane, I’m so glad you started this blog I too love your stories and your drawings. You inspire me.

  8. Helen Tarof says:

    Hi Diane

    You flatter me with your comments. I am so proud and LUCKY to have you for a Daughter-in-Law,you are very SPECAIL to me. Keep up the good work and may God Bless you RICHLY!! With much Love Your Out Law Mother Helen

    ________________________________

  9. Jill says:

    I am extremely proud of “my big sis”! You are such a great writer, as you know, since I always come to you when I have to write something. And I love your drawings. You have kept these talents hidden for a long time and I am so glad that you have released them, so everyone can share in your wonderful stories. I love you! Congratulations!!!!

  10. R.J. Fedler says:

    Congratulations Diane! One-hundred posts is indeed quite the milestone. And I’m glad you discovered your love for drawing. I figured you were an old hand at it, and this wasn’t some new venture. So congrats all around!

  11. Care says:

    Diane, that is great! I love reading your blog. I hope there are many more 100’s to go. You are blessed to have 3 mothers. And if Zoey could read, she would read your blog too!

Leave a Reply

