The Thankfulness Challenge

Every day, I wait in anticipation, for the Facebook posts from my sister-in-law Debbie, and my cousin-in law, April, as they write about what they’re thankful for this month.  All of the things they have written about have caught my attention, but I have used the virtual highlighter for a few of them.

April’s father-in-law is my dear sweet uncle.  On his 80th birthday a few days ago, she posted that she was thankful for him.  I must agree…he’s an incredible man!  So, thank you Uncle Addie for being such a great and supportive uncle and family man.

Her thankfulness post yesterday was in reference to today being “Transgender Day of Remembrance”.   She’s thankful for the lessons she has learned from this particular group of friends, of empathy, compassion, determination, and true personal integrity.  Such great lessons!  Thanks for putting a spotlight on this important issue, April.

April

Debbie’s thankfulness challenge has equally caught my attention.  She wrote about being thankful for Dan, a dear friend of hers who lost his life earlier this year.  Since his death, she’s had occasion to reflect on an important saying that he often said to her: “It will be OK sooner than you think.”   She has dubbed him her angel, and recognizes that he knew the meaning of a friend forever.  I will be sure myself, to recall this little message in times of trouble, and I will pass it forward for others to benefit also.  Thanks Dan and Deb.

The other thankfulness item that Debbie identified made me chuckle.  She’s thankful for coffee for many reasons, including management of headaches, and making her happy.  But she also recognizes its importance for helping her maintain her sparkle.  Deb, I have a feeling you would sparkle just fine without coffee…you’re just that kind of person.

Debbie

So, as we head into the Thanksgiving holiday, I’m thankful for the 13 of us, family and friends, who will gather at Camp Chingachgook in Lake George for another special Thanksgiving celebration.

Wishing a wonderful and peaceful holiday to all.

This entry was posted in What Else: About Life. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Thankfulness Challenge

  1. Ann says:

    Diane,I am thankful for you and your blog. It is helping me deal with my Mom and her dementia. Your stories and drawings make me laugh and give me encouragement. I feel less alone when I check into your blog and a part of something special. Thank you so much and I wish you a wonderful time spent with family and friends for the holiday.

    • Diane Fiore says:

      Ann, in turn, I thank you for your friendship from afar. It’s fun and comforting to know that I have a special friend who stays in touch from so far away. My best to you and your family this Holiday season!

  2. I haven’t posted anything in a couple of days. Your post has inspired an idea. Isn’t that what this is all about. I am thankful for having places like this to inspire my thought process. I hope you have a great Thanksgiving!

  3. mafarckle says:

    Thanksgiving — thanks for giving us this day.  Amen

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

