Phase II, Part II – Trouble, Trouble and Double Trouble

Travels with Dad

—-This is a story of a complex relationship with my father, who I came to love and understand after he was diagnosed with dementia.—-

My sister, Mary, and I thought we would be cool one day, and brought liquor to school.  Seagrams 7 and Creme de Menthe……in spice bottles.  This was not my idea, of course!  But, I happily went along with it.  We were in Junior High.   To this day, I don’t know how we got caught.  I also don’t know whatever possessed us to do such a stupid thing.  Mary got suspended.  I didn’t have any school-related consequences, but home punishment was on the way!

At home, we were separated during waking hours, (we shared a bedroom) and of course, we were grounded.   Mary was banished to our bedroom, and I was thrown in the laundry room, 2 stories below.  I guess it was our parents attempt to keep us from communicating, because together, we were TROUBLE!

Our solitary confinements didn’t stop us from communicating.  You see, we had a laundry chute, and Mary rigged up an elaborate communication system.  She found a long piece of string.  She had paper and pencils.  She began writing notes and drawing funny pictures, and lowered them down the chute.

You can imagine my surprise when the first top secret note arrived, dangling out of the chute.  We were no longer in isolation.  We entertained ourselves for hours, unbeknownst to anyone.

I will mention the obvious:  Al was none too happy with us!!

I imagine my parents were overcome with frustration and disbelief.   “How could these 2 nice girls do such a thing?”

The liquor in the house disappeared.

This entry was posted in Travels with Dad. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Phase II, Part II – Trouble, Trouble and Double Trouble

  1. Ann says:

    Oh My Gosh! What naughty monkeys! I can’t wait to hear how the rest of this story unfolds!

  2. Diane Fiore says:

    LOL, Ann! For the times, I guess we were bad. I think kids are probably worse now…..but I’m not sure, since I don’t have any. 🙂

  3. Michele Linehan, and Marie and Tina:) says:

    LOL! LOL! LOL! hahahahahaha, Oh My!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

