About Me…..

I’m sitting here trying to figure out what I could possibly reveal about myself that is worthy of mentioning.  It’s really easy to write about other people, events, and  things, but writing about yourself  requires a lot of sifting.

So, I thought of a few categories:  Family, Career, Interests.  This will be my guide.

Family:  I am the middle child of 5.  I’ll only claim to have the middle child syndrome if it’s something good, otherwise, I’ll deny it on all levels.  (I have no idea what the middle child syndrome is, and personally don’t care to know.)  I have 3 brothers and a sister, all close in age.  I am the only married sibling, and none of us have children.  I’ve been told that that’s weird…..oh well.   My husband, Brian, has served as my proof reader and editor when I was in college, my golf instructor, and most importantly, my friend.

Career:  I barely graduated from high school many, many years ago, and have since taken education more seriously.   I graduated from Utica College with a degree in Occupational Therapy in 1989, and more recently from Sage Graduate School, with a Masters in Health Services Administration.  That degree only took me 12 years to complete!  The more I learned about health services, the less I knew.  That, I think, is a sign of our times.  Not much is simple anymore.  Maybe things never were, just different.

I started out as a staff occupational therapist in a facility, then manager for a long time, then I moved into the Quality Management Specialist position.  I have since left facility life and joined the ranks of homecare therapists.  Occupational therapy in the home setting is the end all, at least in my opinion.   I think all of those years spent in a facility have allowed me to easily come to that conclusion.   There’s nothing like problem solving with a patient when you’re able to witness their actual environment, and not just guess from their descriptions of their home…..which is how it’s done from a clinic setting.

Interests:  5 years ago, I decided to apply the “if you can’t beat ‘em, join ‘em” concept when I took up golf.  Brian is a master golfer (not good enough for the tour, though) and my valuable coach.  I don’t think I would have the patience that he has had with me as a beginner golfer.  Golf is frustrating enough, without living someone else’s misery too.  But he persevered….we both did, and I embarrass myself less and less each year on the course.

I really enjoy crossword puzzles.  Some call me a cheater because I use my electronic dictionary/crossword solver.  Really!?  How can that be cheating if: (1) you’re not playing against anyone; and:  (2) if you’re learning.  If I didn’t use the dictionary, many blanks would be recycled with the newspaper, and I’d be no further ahead in the word area.   My favorite way to indulge in this activity is with a friend.  Much more fun with 2.

I am an animal lover.  I locked up the car brakes the other day for something that looked like a mouse.  It would have ruined my day had I squashed him.  Brian and I have 2 dogs who are VERY loved.  We love to camp with our canines, but haven’t done that in about 4 years.  Camping requires an extreme amount of work, and mustering up that kind of energy is difficult these days.  We will do it again, though.  Maybe next summer.

Cooking is also an interest of mine.  I’m not thrilled with having to get dinner on the table every night, but I consider that more of a chore than cooking.  I like the kind of cooking that takes time, and promotes creativity.  It’s something that I more think about than do, since time is often in short quantity.

Those are some of the highlights.  Overall, I have no complaints about my life.   As my grandmother used to say , “Live it up, it’s later than you think!”  I try to keep that as my motto.  A concept to live by.  Makes so much sense to me!

 

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Travels with Dad. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to About Me…..

  1. Michele Linehan, and Marie and Tina:) says:

    very nice to know you:)

  2. kimbi802 says:

    Nice insights into your life here. Can’t wait to read more.

  3. Ann says:

    You sound GREAT! Wish I didn’t live on the opposite side of the continent from you! I don’t have kids either,but I do have many cats and two dog’s.

  4. Jackie says:

    Ok, so I know you pretty well and I still learned some things about you.
    1. I thought you had been playing golf for a lot longer than 5 years
    2. I knew you liked crossword puzzles, but not that much!
    3. I love your grandmother’s saying 🙂 Don’t think I’ve ever heard that one!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s