Be Courageous, Daddy

Travels with Dad

—-This is a story of a complex relationship with my father, Al, who I came to love and understand after he was diagnosed with dementia.—-

It was probably better that none of us knew what was going to happen to my father, but if I did know, and had an opportunity to tell him, this is what I may have said to him in a letter in the 1980’s.

Dear Dad,

I know this is going to seem like a shock to you….it is to all of us.  But in a few years, you will begin to morph into a different person.  Well, not really a different person.  Actually, the more authentic YOU will emerge.  I can’t be more specific than that at this moment, but this is what I do know:

*You will worry less

*Laugh more

*Be adventurous

*Like everyone you meet

*Like people you never liked before

*Be surprised about things, like a kid

I hate to tell you this, but many things that aren’t so nice will also happen:

* You will get lost

*Forget how to drive

*Your language will diminish; you will only be able to retrieve and speak a few words

*You will need assistance with bathing, dressing, meals, etc.

*You will look bewildered

*You will no longer be in charge of your own life

Please know that we, your family, will laugh with and at you, but never in a disrespectful way.  We will watch you closely, and to the best of our abilities, ensure your well-being.

Hang on!  We’re all in for an interesting ride!

Daughter, Diane

 

This entry was posted in Travels with Dad. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Be Courageous, Daddy

  1. Ann says:

    Thanks for the new perspective,Diane. I’m on my way down to the farm right now to “deal” with my Mom and clean up a little. I will keep your words in mind and heart……..

  2. kimbi802 says:

    Love this Diane. Very beautiful and heartfelt!

  3. Nelson says:

    Nice. I look forward to following your posts!

  4. Cindy Chambers says:

    Your posts have touched me deeply. In my case it was my Mother.
    Thank-you for this, Cindy Chambers

Leave a Reply

