Hubbard Hall: 3rd Meeting

The group of writers met again last night at Hubbard Hall in Cambridge, NY.  Each time we meet, it becomes clearer to us individually, and to the group, what path we will take in telling our stories.  Mr. Katz is a master at focusing on individuals and their ideas, and pulling out details and emotions.

I have known for years that I wanted to tell the story of 4 special years spent with my father who was diagnosed with dementia.  He became “My Weekend Pal, Al”, and I could not have predicted or planned the way this “trip” would unfold.  Looking back, I’m glad I didn’t have the opportunity to plan it.  I could have never devised something so special.

Lessons:  Planning is overrated.  Let life happen.

More to come about Dad.

 

This entry was posted in Writer's Group. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hubbard Hall: 3rd Meeting

  1. Ann says:

    I will be waiting to hear more about you and your Dad. I am care taking my Mom,who has dementia. The “No Plan” theme definatley applies!

Leave a Reply

